Pictures With a Story

The Happy Photogrpher

Every picture I take and keep has a story behind it. Over the course of a trip, I take hundreds of pictures and when cooking a new meal that I intend to describe at coffeepotcooking.wordpress.com, I take dozens. Usually each adventures is condensed down to a single picture that I have framed. Wall space and the cost of framing are the limitations.

Ana is the engineer in the Evans clan and takes apart everything including her sisters toys and parents electronic devices so when one of my camera’s grew prematurely old and was later resuscitated, I gave it to Ana who has been constantly using it; especially when I am using my camera trying to capture pictures of the family.

The reason she got the camera is typical of our all our adventures. The two girls were in sailing camp and a daughter of a friend of mine was their instructor. So Captain Allen invited Dolores and I and the girls out for a sail. His daughter and a friend were his crew and there was supposed to be a squall but they said the heck with it let’s go. I understood why when I saw the two girls manning the boat, Seems his daughter is Captain of the school sailing team and a very Type A personality and manned the sails as if we were about to have a military encounter.

The trip out was uneventful and we had a wonderful day being tourists at Buck Island. We started to return about the same time that the squall hit and winds picket up to 25-35 knot gusts. Since the crew didn’t want to get wet, they returned to the Yacht club under full sail tacking frequently in a narrow channel and bouncing everybody and everything around the boat. On one such tack, my camera disappeared into the bilge.

Rather than ruin a beautiful day by pouting, I just told Allen that if he ever got around to cleaning the bilge I wasn’t worried about the camera but would love the memory chip for the pictures of the summer with the girls. About six months later Allen delivered the camera to me and it was damp.

I replaced the batteries and checked the memory card which still worked. The camera had a hazy gray screen and showed no desire to function as a camera. I placed it on top of a hot old computer until I decided to clean the office a few months later and checked it prior to discarding. I found it fully functional and passed it on to my Granddaughter.

Its obvious that she has fun with the camera (above) and that she carefully checks her own results.

Checking her work

More than that, when she decides to take a silly picture there is no stopping Silly Ana.

In this case the silly picture was of my belly.

My Big BellyIf you think this looks bad now, imagine it 30 pounds heavier. As Cait says, it’s still bad but at least she can get her arms around it when she gives me a hug.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

