The Difference Between Girls and Women


All my life I have heard that the only difference between men and boys is the price of the toys.  Now not as poetic as Dorthy Parker, I have discovered that the only difference between women and girls is who pays for the toys.

This discover occurred while 7-year-old Ms Ana was working on her laptop which is a better model than mine at the kitchen table.  When I went to 11-year- old Cayla’s room to check on her cleaning progress, I noticed that she has a Mac and a PC laptop on her desk.  Of course Mom has her own computers.

Then when Ms Ana wanted to read a book she went to her library and I noticed that both Cayla and her Mom also have their own libraries.  Of course I captured a picture.

While looking around, I noticed she has stuffed animals on her bed as does her sister.  Then I remembered that their Mom (my daughter) also had stuffed animals on her bed before her daughters took them.

The only difference was that Mommy and Daddy purchased the stuff for the girls whereas in many cases my daughters surviving stuffed animals carried memories of the giver and it wasn’t me.  In the case of books and computers, she buys her own.

So the biggest difference between women and girls is not the toys but who bought them.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

